Well it’s been a while since my last blog, things have been so busy with the brewery, I’ve been neglecting the 1001 other things I should be doing as well.

So…. Where were we? I was hoping to get Cow Tower into the Norwich Beer Festival, which we did, by the skin of our teeth. The beer was well received, and it all got drunk more to the point. This was a really big deal for us, we’ve always loved going along and trying all the different beers, enjoying the atmosphere. This year though, we were showcasing our beer. The beer had only really been tasted by friends before, and a few others, so it was really nerve wracking to hear what people thought. Most people seemed to really enjoy it, and be really positive about it. Whether that’s because they were saying it to my face is another matter…

Since the beer festival, we’ve been slowly spreading the word, getting into more pubs, and gathering the feedback. This week saw our busiest ever delivery day, something which I’m really proud of. It’s not easy when you’re a new brewery in a competitive market (we’re up against some wonderful breweries such as Humpty Dumpty, Grain and Green Jack) trying to make a go of our fledgling business in a difficult economic environment. So like I say, I’m really pleased with how things have gone so far. I’m not a natural sales person, and sometimes I make mistakes, but I guess it’s all part of the learning curve.

We’ve started selling our new beer – Golden Spire. It’s a light, hoppy golden ale, a bit stronger at 4.5%, I like it, and I hope the pubs that we sell to will and their customers. I’ve been so pleased with the initial reaction to this beer, it really makes me feel as though we’re on the right lines with the choices we have made so far.

Who knows were to next though. On the one hand so many people want a huge rip snorter of a IPA, stuffed full of American hops and a good strong one at that. Other people seem to feel a good old fashioned mild or a porter would be good. Let us know what styles you like to see us brew. Personally I just want to make good beers, which people enjoy and taste good. I can’t see us being able to fill every niche in the market, but I’d like to have some really tasty ones that become firm favourites with the beer lovers out there.

